Brno Philharmonic – Besední dům

Soloist of the season for the third time

  • 15. march 2018
    16. march 2018

  • 19:30

  • Komenského nám. 534/8
    Brno 60200

Philharmonic at home II “Classical and modern”

ALBAN BERGChamber Concerto for Piano, Violin and 13 Wind Instruments, Op. 8
FELIX MENDELSSOHN BARTHOLDY Symphony No. 3 in A minor, Op. 56 “Scottish”

František Novotný violin
Igor Ardašev piano
Brno Philharmonic, conductor Jakub Klecker 

• Written for chamber forces, but featuring an intellectual depth and monumentality of sound that makes it essentially a symphonic concerto, Alban Berg’s work was a gift for the fiftieth anniversary of his teacher, Arnold Schoenberg
• An emblematic work of the so-called Second Viennese School composed in 1925 and introduced with cryptograms made of the names of the school’s leading figures, Arnold Schoenberg (in the German system of notation, a-d-es-c-h-b-e-g), Alban Berg (a-b-a-b-e-g) and Anton Webern (a-e-b-e)
• A composition dogmatically based on the magical number three and its multiplications
• Mendelssohn’s famous symphony reflecting the composer’s impressions of travels through Scotland

More information

When the event takes place

15. march 2018 - 19:30
16. march 2018 - 19:30

Entrance fee

from: 290CZK

More information and contacts

Komenského nám. 534/8
Brno 60200

Event at FB
+420 539 092 811

Tell your friends about this event!

Share on Facebook