• The event has taken place

  • Komenského nám. 534/8
    Brno 60200

Philharmonic at home II “Classical and modern”

• One of the most respected contemporary composers, Toshio Hosokawa (born 1955) and his musical meditation  about the natural disaster that struck Japan’s North-East shore in March 2011
• Work commissioned and premiered by the conductor Alexander Liebreich
• Oboe concerto by Bernd A. Zimmerman (1918-1970), written in 1952, as a distinctive, virtuoso, polystylistic  homage to Igor Stravinsky, worked out to the finest detail
• On the eve of the 100th anniversary of the birth of the important German composer, a key figure of musical  postmodernism • Papa Haydn and two works of his Sturm und Drang (Storm and Stress) period
• Overture to an opera developing the story of two sisters, castaways on a deserted island
• An early symphony, sometimes dubbed “Mourning”, probably due to Haydn’s wish for the Adagio to be played at  his funeral.


TOSHIO HOSOKAWA Meditation – To the Victims of the Tsunami, March 2011

BERND ALOIS ZIMMERMANN Concerto for Oboe and Small Orchestra

JOSEPH HAYDN Lʼisola disabitata (The Deserted Island), overture, Symphony No. 44 in E minor, Hob. I:44

Vilém Veverka oboe

Brno Philharmonic, conductor Alexander Liebreich

More information

When the event takes place

23. november 2017 - 19:30
24. november 2017 - 19:30

Entrance fee

from:  290CZK

More information and contacts

Komenského nám. 534/8
Brno 60200


Tell your friends about this event!

Share on Facebook