• The event has taken place

  • Kounicova 20, Brno

ANTONÍN DVOŘÁK Czech Suite, Op. 39, JOSEF SUK Fantastic Scherzo, Op. 25, BOHUSLAV MARTINŮ Cello Concerto No. 2, H304

Tomáš Jamník violoncello, Brno Philharmonic, conductor Robert Kružík

• Dvořák’s masterful treatment of Czech folk dances in a spectacular suite, distinctive for its delicate lyricism, forceful vitality, rich melodic invention and formal clarity • Described by its composer as a “witty play with tones”, the Fantastic Scherzo by Dvořák’s pupil Josef Suk betrays the influences of his teacher, but is also a mature work full of youthful panache and optimism • Second Cello Concerto, one of a number of works dating to Bohuslav Martinů’s “American” creative period and marked by the composer’s desire to return home • Written in 1945, it was only premiered twenty years later (i.e. after Martinů’s death) by Saša Večtomov and Prague Symphony Orchestra conducted by Zdeněk Košler • Tomáš Jamník, an important young Czech performer (winner of the 2006 Prague Spring competition and other prizes) who specialises in Czech music

When the event takes place

26. april 2018 - 11:00
26. april 2018 - 19:00
27. april 2018 - 19:00

Entrance fee

1st band 500 CZK
2nd band 450 CZK
3rd band 400 CZK

More information and contacts

Tell your friends about this event!

Share on Facebook