The Jewish monuments and the Basilica of St. Procopius in Třebíč

The complex of St. Procopius ́ Basilica, the Jewish Town and the Jewish Cemetery in Třebíč has been a part of the UNESCO World  Heritage since 2003. The Jewish Town of Třebíč is the only Jewish  sight out of the territory of Izrael which has been put on the UNESCO  List of World Heritage. Once Třebíč used to be a significant centre of Jewish culture in Moravia and the remarkably preserved Jewish Town has remained a witness of coexistence of the Jews and the Christians. The first Jewish  inhabitants may have come to Třebíč as early as the 13 th century. 

However, the biggest number of Jewish settlers came in the second  half of the 17 th century. The unique Jewish Town will make the visitors walk along its winding  lanes, dark corners, arched passages and romantic small squares. It numbers up to 120 residential houses. It also includes the buildings  of former Jewish institutions, e.g. the town hall, the school, the rabbinic residence and the poorhouse. The synagogue in the rear has  been completely reconstructed. Its interior is decorated by unique  wall paintings from the beginning of the 18 th century. The Jewish Cemetery was founded on the Northern slope of Hrádek  Hill in the 17 th century and it counts 3 000 tombstones placed in a full-grown park. A part of the cemetery is a ceremony hall from  1903 with a uniquely preserved interior where burial ceremonies according to the old Jewish traditions take place even nowadays. The origin of St. Prokopius ́ Basilica is related to the history of the Benedictine Monastery in Třebíč. The cathedral, originally dedicated to Virgin Mary ́s Assumption, was newly dedicated to the Czech Saint, Prokopius, after its reconstruction at the beginning of the 18 th century. The cathedral was probably being built in the period between 1240  and 1260, almost continuously, without any significant interruptions,  in the so called transitional architectonic style. The overall concept of  a three-nave cathedral is Romanesque in style but it also shows the  new elements of the taking over Gothic architecture. An example of  the coexistence of the two styles is the purely Romanesque structure  of the big apsis and the cross vault in the crypt under the chancel. One  of the most valuable elements of the cathedral is the North entrance  portal dating from the first half of the 13 th century. The cathedral, ravaged during the seige by the Hungarian troops in 1468, consequently  falling into disrepair, was subsequently repaired several times. However, from the mid-16 th century it was used predominantly for secular  purposes. In the era of John Joseph of Wallenstein it was profoundly  reconstructed by the architect František Maxmilián Kaňka in 1725 – 1733. The devastated vault was replaced by the Baroque net vault  and two western towers were built up in the Baroque-Gothic style. The  final reconstruction of the basilica took place between 1924 and 1935  to architect Kamil Hilbert ́s design.

Similar objects

Where you can find us
Ve zvoleném programu již tento objekt je. Zvolte jiný.
An error occurred. Try to Re-elect the object to be added.
Pro přidání do programu je nutné se přihlásit.
Přihlásit nebo zaregistrovat se zde